Takács Thesis Award


Takács Award for outstanding PhD thesis on "Queueing Theory and its Applications"

The Takács Award is a bi-annual award presented to doctoral dissertations in recognition of outstanding contributions to queueing theory, including the development of theory, methodological advances, computational aspects and applications.
The award is accompanied by a certificate, a cash prize of 1000€, and an invitation (travel costs, accommodation, and registration fee covered) to deliver a plenary talk at the conference.

Eligibility: Open to candidates from all over the world for theses defended between 01/01/2014 and 31/12/2015. There are no restrictions neither on the nationality of the applicant nor on the location of the degree-awarding institution.

Deadline for applications: April 30, 2016.

Contact: ecqt16-phdprize@sciencesconf.org

Sponsorship: For the 2016 edition, financial sponsorship of the award is provided by the SMACS Research Group at Ghent University, Belgium (http://telin.ugent.be/smacs/ )

The winner of the 2016 Takács Award is

Harsha Honnappa

for his thesis titled Strategic and transitory models of queueing systems. His award citation reads

"for the introduction and analysis of transitory queueing models, using an impressive range of analytic techniques."

In view of the very high-quality submissions, the selection committee also named two runners-up. They are (in no particular order):

  • Maria Remerova for her thesis titled Fluid limit approximations of stochastic networks. Her award citation reads “for advancing our understanding of fluid limits in systems with impatient customers”; and
  • Maialen Larranaga for her thesis titled Dynamic control of stochastic and fluid resource-sharing systems. Her award citation reads “for furthering knowledge in notoriously difficult problems in the area of restless multi-armed bandits”.

  • Ton Dieker (Columbia University)
  • Doug Down (McMasterUniversity, Chair of the committee)
  • A. Ganesh (University of Bristol)
  • Michel Mandjes (University of Amsterdam)
  • Antonio Pacheco (IST-UTL)
  • Florian Simatos (ISAE-SupAero)
  • Sabine Wittevrongel (Ghent University)


By April 30, 2016, applicants must upload the following documents:

  1.  a three-page summary of the dissertation in English highlighting the significance, contribution, impact, and novelty of the dissertation; and
    For the three-page summary please respect the following formatting constraints: Times New Roman, Arial or similar, at least font size 11, margins (2.0cm side and 1.5cm top and bottom), single line spacing.
  2.  an electronic copy of the manuscript,

  as a single PDF file at  https://easychair.org/conferences/?conf=ecqt2016phdprize

Evaluation process:  The selection committee will be appointed by the steering committee of ECQT. Applicants will be informed of the outcome by May 31, 2016.

Prof. Lajos Takács (August 21, 1924 - December 4, 2015) was a pioneer in Queueing Theory, and in particular he was the first to introduce semi-Markov processes in queueing theory.  During his extensive career, he supervised over twenty PhD theses, and he authored over 200 mathematical publications, including five books on Stochastic Processes, Queueing Theory and Probability.

For more details on the life and the achievements of Prof. Takács, see:

Online user: 1 RSS Feed